Achievement

Achievement

Boom. #grateful365

Today, Alice was born. I’m her Uncle Gareth. Feels awesome!! #grateful365

Here we have two seemingly unrelated things: a baby, and an academic achievement certificate. But I wanted to look at the definition of achievement some more:

achieve·ment noun \ə-ˈchēv-mənt\
: something that has been done or achieved through effort : a result of hard work

: the act of achieving something : the state or condition of having achieved or accomplished something

So on the one hand I have a piece of paper, that says well done for being clever, for reasons that are not overtly clear to me; and on the other, I have a beautiful niece, Alice, that my sister worked extremely hard to bear through childbirth (facing severe bodily trauma in the process). I know that in years to come, my relationship to my niece will bloom, become beautiful, and be rich and deep in values that will be difficult to express; while on the other hand I feel my certificate will be helpful, but largely forgotten within a few years. So where is the real achievement?

Leave a Reply

